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OPEN LETTER TO ALL WEST VIRGINIA FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES 

The purpose of this open letter is to provide guidance on the procedure to comply with Federal 
law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t), when you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person. 

The permanent provisions of the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act (Act) took effect on 
November 30, 1998. The Act generally requires Federal firearms licensees (FFLs)to initiate a 
National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) background check before 
transferring a firearm to an unlicensed person. However, the Brady law contains exceptions to 
the NICS check requirement, including an exception for holders of certain State permits to 
possess, carry, or acquire firearms. The law and implementing regulations provide that permits 
issued within the past 5 years may qualify as alternatives to the NICS check if certain other 
requirements are satisfied. Most importantly, the authority issuing the permit must conduct a 
NICS background check and must deny a permit to anyone prohibited from possessing firearms 
under Federal, State, or local law. 

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has determined that West 
Virginia's Concealed Handgun Licenses (CHLs) issued on or after June 4, 2014 qualify as 
alternatives to the background check under the Brady law. If you transfer a firearm to an 
unlicensed person pursuant to the license alternative, you must comply with the following 
requirements: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 
Record. 

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo 
identification (for example, a driver's license). 

3. Verify that the license was issued within the past 5 years by the State in which 
the transfer is to occur and that the lieense has not expired under State law. 

4. Either retain a copy of the transferee's license and attach it to the Form 4473, or 
record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the license, the date of 
issuance, and the expiration date ofthe license. 
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If you have any questions about West Virginia's Concealed Handgun Licenses qualifying as an 
alternative to the NICS check, please contact ATF's Firearms Industry Programs Branch at (202) 
648-7190, or fipb@atf.gov. 

Michael F. Fronczak 
Chief, Firearms and Explosives Industry Division 
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