
BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FIREARMS 

WASHINGTON, DC 20226 

NOV I 6 l9S9 

OPEN LETTER TO ALL UTAH FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES 

Pennanent Provisions of the Brady Law. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of your 
responsibilities under the pennanent provisions of the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t). On 
November 30, 1998, the interim provisions of the Brady law will cease to apply, and the 
permanent provisions of the Brady law will take effect. . 

The permanent provisions of the Brady law provide for the establishment of a national instant 
criminal background check system (NICS) that licensees must contact before transferring any 
firearm to unlicensed individuals. While the interim provisions apply only to handguns, the 
pennanent provisions of Brady will apply to all firearms. In addition, under pennanent Brady 
there will no longer be an exemption for the redemption of a firearm from pawn. 

Notification from the Attorney General. On October 30, 1998, the Department ofJustice 
published a final rule in the Federal Register, announcing the establishment of the NICS as of 
October 31, 1998. Accordingly, licensees will be required to comply with pennanent Brady as of 
November 30, 1998. Copies of the Justice Department's final rule are available on DOJ's Home 
Page on the Internet at http://www.fbi.gov/proqrams/nics/index.htm, and DOJ is mailing copies 
of the final rule to licensees. 

Initiation of NICS Checks. The State of Utah will act as the point of contact for NICS checks 
for all firearms transactions. To request a NICS check for any fireann transaction you must 
contact the Utah Department of Public Safety by dialing 1-800-500-GUNS (1-800-500-4867). 
Licensees in Salt Lake City should dial 801-965-GUNS (801-965-4867). 

Transfers Subject to NICS Check Requirement. As of November 30, 1998, you will be 
required to initiate a NICS check prior to transferring a firearm to anyone who is not a licensee. 
The following steps must be followed prior to transferring a firearm: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 
Record. 

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo 
identification (for example, a driver's license). 

3. Contact NICS through the Utah Department of Public Safety. You will get either a 
"proceed," "denied" or "delayed" response from the system. If you get a "delayed., 
response and there is no additional response from the system, the Brady law 
provides that you may transfer the firearm after three business days have elapsed. 
Please note however, that you must still comply with Utah law, which provides 
that if you get a "delayed" response you shall not transfer or sell any fireann 
to any person until you receive an "approval'' from the Department of Public 
Safety. The Department of Public Safety will give you an estimated length of 
such a delay. 
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4. If you have initiated a"Nrcs check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the 
transfer of the firearm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your 
records for a period of not less than 5 years. If the transfer is completed, the 
Form 4473 must be retained for at least 20 years. 

Alternatives to a NICS Check. The Brady law provides that certain permits may qualify as 
altematives to a NICS check. The concealed weapons permit in your State qualified as an 
altemative to a background check under the interim provisions of Brady, and will continue to 
qualify as an alternative to the NICS check required by permanent Brady. Of course all such 
transactions must still comply with State law. • 

If you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to the permit alternative, you must 
comply with the following requirements: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 
Record. 

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo 
identification (for example, a driver's license). 

3. Verify that the permit was issued within the past 5 years by the State in which the 
transfer is to occur, and that the permit has not expired under State law. 

4. Either retain a copy of the transferee's permit and attach it to the Form 4473, or 
record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the permit, the date of 
issuance, and the expiration date of the permit. 

Final Regulations and Forms 4473. On October 29, 1998, ATF published final reg·ulations 
implementing the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The ATF final regulations are 
available on ATF's Home Page on the Internet at http:llwww.atf.treas.gov/corelregulations/ 
brady_regs.htm. ATF has also modified ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record, to 
reflect the changes in the background check system. A copy of these regulations and a small 
supply of Forms 4473 will be mailed to each licensee under separate cover before 
November 30, 1998. 

Questions. If you have any questions, please contact your local A TF office or the Utah 
Department of Public Safety. 
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