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BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FIREARMS
WASHINGTON, DC 20226
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OPEN LETTER TO ALL TENNESSEE FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES

Permanent Provisions of the Brady Law. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of your
responsibilities under the permanent provisions of the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t). On
November 30, 1998, the interim provisions of the Brady law will cease to apply, and the
permanent provisions of the Brady law will take effect.

The permanent provisions of the Brady law provide for the establishment of a national instant
criminal background check system (NICS) that licensees must contact before transferring any
firearm to unlicensed individuals. While the interim provisions apply only to handguns, the
permanent provisions of Brady will apply to all firearms. In addition, under permanent Brady
there will no longer be an exemption for the redemption of a firearm from pawn.

Notification from the Aftorney General. On October 30, 1998, the Department of Justice
published a final rule in the Federal Register, announcing the establishment of the NICS as of
October 31, 1998. Accordingly, licensees will be required to comply with permanent Brady as of
Novermnber 30, 1998. Copies of the Justice Department's final rule are available on DOJ's Home
Page on the Internet at hitp://www.fbi.gov/programs/nics/index.htm, and DOJ is mailing copies
of the final rule to licensees.

Initiation of NICS Checks. The State of Tennessee will act as the point of contact for NICS
checks for all firearms transactions. To request a NICS check for any firearm transaction you
must contact the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation by dialing 1-877-486-2435,

Transfers Subject to NICS Check Requirement. As of November 30, 1998, you will be
required to initiate a NICS check prior to transferring a firearm to anyone who is not a licensee.
The following steps must be followed prior to transferring a firearm:

1.  Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction
Record.

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo
identification (for example, a driver’s license).

3.  Contact NICS through the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation. You will get either a
"proceed," "denied" or "delayed" response from the system. If you get a "delayed”
response and there is no additional response from the system, you may transfer the
firearm after three business days have elapsed. Of course, you must still comply
with any waiting period requirements under State law.

4.  If you have initiated a NICS check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the
transfer of the firearm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your
records for a period of not less than 5 years. If the transfer is completed, the
Form 4473 must be retained for at least 20 years.
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Alternatives to a NICS Check. The Brady law provides that certain permits may qualify as
alternatives to a NICS check. However, there are no permits in your state that qualify as an (
altermnative to a NICS check. N
Final Regulations and Forms 4473. On October 29, 1998, ATF published final regulations
implementing the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The ATF final regulations are

available on ATF's home page on the Internet at http://www.atf.treas.gov/core/regulations/
brady_regs.htm. ATF has also modified ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record, to

reflect the changes in the background check system. A copy of the final regulations and a small

supply of Forms 4473 will be mailed to each licensee under separate cover before November

30, 1998.

Questions. If you have any questions, please contact your local ATF office or the Tennessee

Bureau of Investigation.
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