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OPEN LETTER TO ALL OHIO FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES 

The purpose of this open letter is to advise you ofan important change to the procedure you may 
follow to comply with the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act (Brady Act), 18 U.S.C. § 
922(t), when transferring a firearm to an unlicensed person. 

The permanent provisions of the Brady Act took effect on November 30, 1998. The Brady Act, 
codified at 18 U.S.C. § 922(t) generally requires Federal firearms licensees (FFLs) to initiate a 
National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) background check before 
transferring a firearm to an unlicensed person. However, the Brady Act contains exceptions to 
the NICS check requirement, including an exception for holders of certain State permits to 
possess, carry, or acquire firearms. The law and implementing regulations provide that permits 
issued within the past 5 years may qualify as alternatives to the NICS check if certain other 
requirements are satisfied. Most importantly, the authority issuing the permit must conduct a 
NICS background check and must deny a permit to anyone prohibited from possessing firearms 
under Federal, State, or local law. 

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has reviewed Ohio's 
concealed handgun license and has determined that the license qualifies as an alternative to the 
background check requirement. Please be advised that only licenses issued pursuant to Ohio 
Revised Code Section 2923 .125 on or after March 23, 2015, qualify as alternatives to the 
background check. Ifan unlicensed person presents a concealed handgun license issued prior to 
March 23, 2015, the FFL must conduct a background check prior to transferring the firearm. 

Ifyou transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to the permit alternative, you must 
comply with the following requirements: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 

Record. 

2. Verify the identity ofthe transferee through a Government-issued photo 

identification (for example, a driver's license). 

3. Verify that the concealed handgun license was issued pursuant to Ohio Revised 
Code Section 2923 .125 on or after March 23, 2015, and within the past 5 years 

by the State in which the transfer is to occur, and that the license has not expired 
under State law. 
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4. Either retain a copy ofthe transferee's license and attach it to the Form 4473, or 
record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the license, the date of 
issuance, and the expiration date ofthe license. 

If you have any questions about Ohio's concealed handgun license qualifying as an alternative to 
the NICS check, please call ATF's Firearms Industry Programs Branch at (202) 648-7190. 
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