
 

 

 

 
 

  
 

 
  

  
 

 
 

 

 

  

 
 

  

 
 
  

  

 
 

 
 

 

U.S. Department of Justice  

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, 
      Firearms and Explosives 

 

Washington, DC 20226 

May 9, 2011 

Open Letter to All Kansas Federal Firearms Licensees 

The purpose of this open letter is to advise you of an important change to the procedure you may follow 
to comply with the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t), when transferring a 
firearm to an unlicensed person. This open letter supersedes the document by the same title, posted on 
April 8, 2010. 

The permanent provisions of the Brady law took effect on November 30, 1998. The Brady law generally 
requires Federal firearms licensees (FFLs) to initiate a National Instant Criminal Background Check 
System (NICS) background check before transferring a firearm to an unlicensed person. However, the 
Brady law contains exceptions to the NICS check requirement, including an exception for holders of 
certain State permits to possess, carry, or acquire firearms. The law and implementing regulations provide 
that permits issued within the past 5 years may qualify as alternatives to the NICS check if certain other 
requirements are satisfied. Most importantly, the authority issuing the permit must conduct a NICS 
background check and must deny a permit to anyone prohibited from possessing firearms under Federal, 
State, or local law. 

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has reviewed the Kansas Personal and 
Family Protection Act, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 75-7c01 through 75-7c19, which contains the provisions for a 
license to carry a concealed handgun, and has determined that Kansas’ license to carry a concealed 
handgun qualifies as an alternative to the background check required by the Brady law. Please be advised 
that only licenses issued after July 1, 2010 qualify as alternatives to the background check. If an 
unlicensed person presents a license issued prior to July 1, 2010, the FFL must conduct a background 
check prior to transferring the firearm. 

If you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to the permit alternative, you must comply with 
the following requirements: 

1.  Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record.  
2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo identification (for 

example, a driver’s license).  
3. Verify that the license to carry a concealed handgun was issued within the past 5 years by the 

State in which the transfer is to occur, and that the license has not expired under State law.  
4. Either retain a copy of the transferee’s license to carry a concealed handgun and attach it to the 

Form 4473, or record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the license, the date of 
issuance, and the expiration date of the license. 

If you have any questions about Kansas’ license to carry a concealed handgun qualifying as an alternative 
to the NICS check, please call ATF’s Firearms Industry Programs Branch at (202) 648-7190. 



 

 
Arthur Herbert 

Assistant Director 
Enforcement Programs and Services 




