DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FIREARMS
WASHINGTON, b 20226

Nov 16 (938

OPEN LETTER TO ALL FLORIDA FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES

Permanent Provisions of the Brady Law. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of your
responsibilities under the permanent provisions of the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t}. On November 30,
1998, the interim provisions of the Brady law will cease to apply, and the permanent provisions of the
Brady law will take effect.

The permanent provisions of the Brady law provide for the establishment of a National instant Criminal
Background Check System {NICS) that licensees must contact before transfemring any firearm to
unlicensed individuals. While the interim provisions apply only to handguns, the permanent provisions of
Brady will apply to all firearms. In addition, under permanent Brady there will no longer be an exemption
for the redemption of a firearm from pawn.

Notification from the Attorney General. On October 30, 1998, the Department of Justice published a
final rule in the Federal Register, announcing the establishment of the NICS as of October 31, 1998.
Accordingly, licensees will be required to comply with permanent Brady as of November 30, 1998.
Caopies of the Justice Department's final rule are available on DOJ's Home Page on the Intemet at
http://www. fbi.gov/pregrams/nics/index.htm, and DOJ is mailing copies of the final rule to licensees.

Initiation of NICS Checks. The State of Florida will act as the point of contact for NICS checks for all
firearms transactions except certain pawn transactions. To request a NICS check for any firearms
transaction you must contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement's (FDLE) Firearms Purchase
Program at the number provided to you by them during your initial enrollment. If you are currently
enrolled with the FDLE Firearms Purchase Program, no additional enrollment is necessary. If you are not
enrolled with the FDLE, to enroll please call (850) 410-8138 or (850) 410-8140.

To request a background check on certain pawn transactions (including optional checks prior to
acceptance of a pawned firearm and the mandatory check prior to redemption of a pawned firearm within
the first 80 days), you may contact either the Federal Bureau of Investigation or the FDLE. If a firearm is
redeemed from pawn after 80 days, then current Florida rules would apply and the check would be done
through FDLE,

To request a background check from the FBI NICS Operations center you should diat 1-877-FBI-NICS (1-
877-324-6427). Your call will be answered by an automated menu that allows you to select from several
customer services including initiating a NICS background check.

Transfers Subject to NICS Check Requirement. As of November 30, 1898, you will be required to
initiate a NICS check prior to transferring a firearm to anyone who is not a licensee. The following steps
must be followed prior to transferring a firearm:

1 Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record.

2.  Verify the identity of the transferee through a Govemment-issued photo identification (for
example, a driver's license).

3. Contact NICS through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement or the FBI. {f you contact
the FDLE, you will get a response from the system advising you whether the transaction has
been given an approval, a conditional non-approval or a non-approval. |f you contact the
FBI, you will get either a "proceed,” "denied" or "delayed" response from the system. If you
get a "conditional non-approval” or a “delayed” response and there is no additional response
from the system, the Brady law provides that you may transfer the firearm after three
business days have elapsed. However, under Florida requirements you must contact FDLE
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prior to transferring the firearm if the initial check went through the FDLE. Of course, you
must still comply with any waiting period requirements under State Jaw.

4, If you have initiated a NICS check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the transfer of the
firearm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your records for a period of not
less than S years. If the transfer is completed, the Form 4473 must be retained for at least
20 years.,

Alternatives to a NICS Check. The Brady law provides that certain parmits may qualify as alternatives
to a NICS check. Although the concealed weapons permit issued in your State qualified as an alternative
to a background check under the interim provisions of Brady, the permit will not qualify as an alternative
to the NICS check required by permanent Brady. However, concealed weapons permits issued prior to
November 30, 1998, will be "grandfatherad" as Brady alternatives for the duration of the permit, not to
exceed 5 years from the date of issuance. Of course all such transactions must still comply with State
law. Please note that permits issued on or after November 30, 1998, will not qualify as alternatives to the
NICS check.

If you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to this permit altemative, you must comply with
the following requirements:

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record.

2! Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo identification (for
example, a driver's license).

3. Verify that the permit was issued prior to November 30, 1898, and within the past 5 years
by the State in which the transfer is to occur, and that the permit has not expired under
State law.

4, Either retain a copy of the transferee's permit and attach it to the Form 4473, or record on

the Form 4473 any identifying number from the permit, the date of issuance, and the
expiration date of the permit.

Final Regulations and Forms 4473. On October 29, 1998, ATF published final reguiations
implementing the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The ATF final regulations are available on
ATF's home page on the Intemet at http/www.atf.treas.gov/core/regulations/ brady_regs.htm. ATF
has also modified ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record, to reflect the changes in the
background check system. A copy of the final regulations and a small supply of Forms 4473 will be
mailed to each licensee under separate cover before November 30, 1998.

Questions. If you have any questions, please contact your local ATF office or the Florida Department of

Law Enforcement

Jimmy/Wooten
Assistant Director
(Firearms, Explosives and Arson)


http://www.atf.treas.gov/corelregulatlons

