DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FIREARMS
WASHINGTON, DC 20226
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OPEN LETTER TO ALL CONNECTICUT FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES

Permanent Provisions of the Brady Law. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of your
responsibilities under the permanent provisions of the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t). On
November 30, 1998, the interim provisions of the Brady law will cease to apply, and the
permanent provisions of the Brady law will take effect.

The permanent provisions of the Brady law provide for the establishment of a National Instant
Criminal Background Check System (NICS) that licensees must contact before transferring any
firearm to unlicensed individuals. While the interim provisions apply only to handguns, the
permanent pravisions of Brady will apply to all firearms. In addition, under permanent Brady
there will no longer be an exemption for the redemption of a firearm from pawn.

Notification from the Attorney General. On October 30, 1998, the Department of Justice
published a final rule in the Federal Register, announcing the establishment of the NICS as of
October 31, 1998. Accordingly, licensees will be required to comply with permanent Brady as of
November 30, 1998. Copies of the Justice Department's final rule are available on DOJ's Home
Page on the Internet at http://www.fbi.qov/programs/nics/index.htm, and DOJ is mailing copies
of the final rule to licensees.

Initiation of NICS Checks. The State of Connecticut will act as a point of contact for NICS
checks. To request a NICS check for any firearm transaction you must contact the Connecticut
Department of Public Safety by dialing 1-860-685-8400.

Transfers Subject to NICS Check Requirement. As of November 30, 1998, you will be
required to initiate 2 NICS check prior to transferring a firearm to anyone who is not a licensee.
The following steps must be followed prior to transferring a firearm:

1.  Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction
Record.

2.  Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo
identification (for example, a driver’s license).

3.  Contact NICS through the Connecticut Department of Public Safety. You will get a
response from the system advising you whether to proceed with the sale or to delay
or deny the transaction. If you get a “delayed” response and there is no additional
response from the system, the Brady law provides that you may transfer the firearm
after three business days have elapsed. Please note, however, that you must
still comply with the waiting period provisions of Connecticut law.

4.  Ifyou have initiated a NICS check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the
transfer of the fireamm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your
records for a period of not less than 5 years. [f the transfer is completed, the Form
4473 must be retained for at least 20 years.

WWW.ATF.TREAS.GOV


http://www.fbi.gov/programs/nics/index.htm

b 71~

Alternatives to a NICS Check. The Brady law provides that certain permits may qualify as
alternatives to a NICS check. Although the concealed weapons permit issued in your State
qualified as an alternative to a background check under the interim provisions of Brady, the
permit will not qualify as an alternative to the NICS check required by permanent Brady.
However, concealed weapons permits issued prior to November 30, 1998, will be
"grandfathered" as Brady alternatives for the duration of the pemmit, not to exceed 5 years from
the date of issuance. Of course all such transactions must still comply with State law. Please
note that permits issued on or after November 30, 1998, will not qualify as alternatives to the
NICS check. Under Connecticut law, even if the transferee has a valid permit, you must
still obtain an authorization number from the Connecticut Department of Public Safety
prior to transferring the firearm.

If you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to this permit alternative, you must
comply with the following requirements:

1.6 Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transactione
Record.e

2e Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photoe
identification (for example, a driver’s license).

3.e Verify that the permit was issued prior to November 30, 1998 and within the paste
5 years by the State in which the transfer is to occur, and that the permit has note
expired under State law.e

4.e  Either retain a copy of the transferee's permit and attach it to the Form 4473, ore
g record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the permit, the date ofe
issuance, and the expiration date of the pemmit.e

Final Regulations and Forms 4473. On October 29, 1998, ATF published final regulations
implementing the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The ATF final regulations are
available on ATF's home page on the Internet at http:/www.atf.treas.gov/core/regulations/
brady_regs.htm. ATF has also modified ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record, to
reflect changes in the background check system. A copy of the final regulations and a small
supply of Forms 4473 will be mailed to each licensee under separate cover before
November 30, 1998.

Questions. If you have any questions, please contact your local ATF office or the Connecticut
Department of Public Safety, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

Afote..

JimmyMooten
Assistant Director
(Firearms, Explosives and Arson)
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