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Original Letter 
 
On November 10, 1998, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) sent an open 
letter to all Oregon Federal Firearms licensees advising you of your responsibilities under 
the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The permanent provisions of the Brady law 
provide for the establishment of a National Instant Criminal Background Check System 
(NICS) that licensees must contact before transferring a firearm to unlicensed individuals. 
In this letter, ATF advised you that the State of Oregon would act as the point of contact for 
NICS checks for handgun transactions and the Federal Bureau of Investigation would 
conduct NICS background checks for all long gun transactions. 
 
The provision of Oregon State law regarding all firearms background checks was recently 
amended. Effective December 8, 2000, the Oregon State Police will act as the point of 
contact for all firearms background checks (handguns and long guns). To request a NICS 
check for any firearm transaction you now must contact the Oregon State Police at 1-800-
432-5059. 
 
As a reminder, you must comply with the following steps prior to transferring a firearm to 
anyone who is not a licensee: 
 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record. 
2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a government-issued photo identification 

(for example, a driver’s license). 
3. Contact NICS through the Oregon State Police. You will get a response from the 

system advising you whether to proceed with the sale or to delay or deny the 
transaction. If you get a "delayed" response and there is no additional response from 
the system, you may transfer the firearm after three business days have lapsed. Of 
course, you must still comply with any waiting periods under State law.  

4. If you have initiated a NICS check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the 
transfer of the firearm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your 
records for a period of not less than 5 years. If the transfer is completed, the Form 
4473 must be retained for at least 20 years. 

 
 
 
 



Questions 
 
If you have any questions, please contact your local ATF office. Questions regarding 
operational issues for all firearm transactions should be directed to the Oregon State Police 
at (503) 378-3070. 
 

 
John P. Malone 
Assistant Director 
Firearms, Explosives and Arson 



DEPARTMENT OFTHE TREASURY 

BUREAU OF ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FIREARMS 
WASHINGTON, DC 20226 

NOV I O 1998 

OPEN LEmR TO ALL OREGON FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES 

Permanent Provisions of the Brady Law. The purpose of this letter is to advise you of your 
responsibilities under the permanent provisions of the Brady law, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t). On 
November 30, 1998, the interim provisions of the Brady law will cease to apply, and the permanent 
provisions of the Brady law will take effect. 

The permanent provisions of the Brady law provide for the establishment of a National Instant 
Criminal Background Check System (NICS) that licensees must contact before transferring any 
firearm to unlicensed individuals. While the interim provisions apply only to handguns, the 
permanent provisions of Brady will apply to all firearms. In addition, under permanent Brady there 
will no longer be an exemption for the redemption of a firearm from pawn. 

Notification from the Attorney General. On October 30, 1998, the Department of Justice 
published a final rule in the Federal Register, announcing the establishment of the NICS as of 
October 31, 1998. Accordingly, licensees will be required to comply with permanent Brady as of 
November 30, 1998. Copies of the Justice Department's final rule are available on DOJ's Home 
Page on the Internet at http://www.fbi.gov/programs/nics/index.htm. and DOJ is mailing copies of 
the final rule to licensees. 

Initiation of NICS Checks. The State of Oregon will act as the point of contact for NICS checks 
for handgun transactions. To request a NICS check for handgun transactions you must contact the 
Oregon State Police at 1-800-432-5059. 

To request a background check for long gun transactions you must contact the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation"s NICS Operations Center by dialing 1-877-FBI-NICS (1-877-324-6427). Your call will 
be answered by an automated menu that allows you to select from several customer services 
Including initiating a NICS background check. 

Transfers Subject to NICS Check Requirement As of November 30, 1998. you will be required 
to initiate a NICS check prior to transferring a firearm to anyone who is not a licensee. The 
following steps must be followed prior to transferring a firearm: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign A TF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record. 

2. Verify the Identity of the transferee through a Government-Issued photo identification 
(for example, a driver's license). 

3. Contact NICS through either the FBI or the Oregon State Police. You will get a 
response from the system advising you whether to proceed with the sale or to delay or 
deny the transaction. If you get a •delayed• response and there is no additional 
response from the system. you may transfer the firearm after three business days have 
elapsed. Of course, you must still comply with any waiting periods under State 
law. 
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4. Ifyou have initiated a NICS check for a proposed firearms transaction, but the transfer 

of the firearm is not completed, you must retain the Form 4473 in your records for a 
period of not less than 5 years. If the transfer is completed, the Form 4473 must be 
retained for at least 20 years. 

Alternatives to a NICS Check. The Brady law provides that certain permits may qualify as 
alternatives to a NICS check. Although the concealed weapons permit issued in your State 
qualified as an alternative to a background check under the interim provisions of Brady, the permit 
will not qualify as an alternative to the NICS check required by permanent Brady. However, 
concealed weapons permits issued prior to November 30, 1998, will be "grandfathered" as Brady 
alternatives for the duration of the permit, not to exceed 5 years from the date of issuance. Of 
course all such transactions must still comply with State law. Please note that permits issued on or 
after November 30, 1998, will not qualify as alternatives to the NICS check. 

If you transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to this permit alternative, you must 
comply with the following requirements: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 
Record. 

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo 
identification (for example, a driver's license}. 

3. Verify that the permit was issued prior to November 30, 1998, and within the past 5 
years by the State in which the transfer is to occur, and that the permit has not 
expired under State law. 

4. Either retain a copy of the transferee's permit and attach It to the Form 4473, or 
record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the permit, the date of 

· issuance, and the expiration date of the permit. 

Final Regulations and Forms 4473. On October 29, 1998, ATF published final regulations 
implementing the permanent provisions of the Brady law. The ATF final regulations are available 
on ATF's home page on the Internet at http://www.atf.treas.gov/core/regu/atlonsl 
brady_regs.htm. ATF has also modified ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction Record, to reflect 
the changes in the background check system. A copy of the final regulations and a small supply of 
Forms 4473 will be mailed to each licensee under separate cover before 
November 30, 1998. 

Questions. If you have any questions, please contact your local ATF office. Questions regarding 
operational issues for long gun transactions should be directed to the FBI at 304-625-2750. 
Questions regarding operational issues for handgun transactions should be directed to the Oregon 
State Police. 
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