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April 3, 2015 

OPEN LETTER TO ALL LOUISIANA FEDERAL FIREARMS LICENSEES 

The purpose of this open letter is to advise you ofan important change to the procedure you may 
follow to comply with the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t), when 
transferring a firearm to an unlicensed person. 

The permanent provisions ofthe Brady law took effect on November 30, 1998. The Brady law 
generally requires Federal firearms licensees (FFLs) to initiate a National Instant Criminal 
Background Check System (NICS) background check before transferring a firearm to an 
unlicensed person. However, the Brady law contains exceptions to the NICS check requirement, 
including an exception for holders ofcertain State permits to possess, carry, or acquire firearms. 
The law and implementing regulations provide that permits issued within the past 5 years may 
qualify as alternatives to the NICS check if certain other requirements are satisfied. Most 
importantly, the authority issuing the permit must conduct a NICS background check and must 
deny a permit to anyone prohibited from possessing firearms under Federal, State, or local law. 

The Bureau ofAlcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has reviewed Louisiana's 
concealed handgun permit and has determined that the permit qualifies as an alternative to the 
background check required by the Brady law. Please be advised that only concealed handgun 
permits issued pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes Section 40:1379.3 on or after March 9, 
2015 qualify as alternatives to the background check. Ifan unlicensed person presents a 
concealed handgun permit issued prior to March 9, 2015, the FFL must conduct a background 
check prior to transferring the firearm. 

Ifyou transfer a firearm to an unlicensed person pursuant to the permit alternative, you must 
comply with the following requirements: 

1. Have the transferee complete and sign ATF Form 4473, Firearms Transaction 
Record. 

2. Verify the identity of the transferee through a Government-issued photo 
identification (for example, a driver's license). 

3. Verify that the concealed handgun permit was issued on or after March 9, 2015, 
and within the past 5 years by the State in which the transfer is to occur, and that 
the permit has not expired under State law. 
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4. Either retain a copy ofthe transferee's concealed firearm permit and attach it to 
the Form 4473, or record on the Form 4473 any identifying number from the 
permit, the date ofissuance, and the expiration date of the permit. 

Ifyou have any questions about Louisiana's concealed firearm permit qualifying as an 
alternative to the NICS check, please call ATF's Firearms Industry rograms Branch at (202) 
648-7190. 

Marvin G. Richardson 
Assistant Director 

Enforcement Programs and Services 


